A Plee for Meat

After reading the Paleo Answer, I thought this reasons should be compelling enough to eat steak if you are seeking healthy outlook on life (I realize for religious or philosophical reasons many do not eat meat. However many people also become vegetarians because they think it will make them healthier or skinnier).

  •  B12 and B6, anytime someone tells me they’re considering becoming a vegetarian or are a vegetarian, this is the first one I worry about. As many know I’m not prone on supplementation and putting synthetic pills into my body. It’s not going to interact the same way as it would if I ingested it with nutrient dense foods. Therefore I am very leery of a diet where I would have to supplement basically for the rest of my life. B12 deficiency can: lead to homocysteine ( a toxin associated with risk of birth defects, infertility, dementia, stroke, heart attacks, blood vessel diseases, blood clots, osteoporosis, and overall death rates),
  • Adverse effect on the brain function, mood and behavior
  • Greater risk of Alzheimer’s
  • Dementia
  • Depression
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Stroke
  • Increased bone fractures
  •  More menstrual complications
  •  Zinc deficiency, which even if they consume enough zinc, it is not getting absorbed because of the prevalence of grains and phytates, robbing zinc stores
  •   Poor sperm levels
  •   Infertility
  •   Phytates in the diet can cause deficiencies (iron, iodine, vitamin D, vitamin B6, omega-3 and taurine (amino acid, which in this lack thereof, causes an increased risk of cardiovascular disease)

I think my biggest beef with being a vegetarian, is the lack of quality protein and amino acids, the large amounts of legumes and grains (phytates), and the potential nutrient deficiencies.

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Longevity, Nutrition, Physiology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

