Featured Food: Tilapia

Obviously fish are high up on the praiseworthy ladder. I’ve done salmon, I’ve tuna, I’ve done Mahi Mahi, but yesterday when I looked in the freezer I saw an impressive selection of Tilapia that my grandparents had given us for Christmas. I’ll confess I have never eaten much tilapia, but that doesn’t mean I can’t change that (I realize now I eat a lot of meat, I should add more fish). I may go fix some now. Maybe it will be our meal of the week tomorrow!

So why should we eat tilapia? The good news for many is it a more economical fish than say wild salmon. But there’s more:

  • It’s a great source of protein
  • B12
  • Niacin
  • Selenium
  • Low calorie
  • Omega-3 (a big plus!)
  • potassium

Not bad, so if you have some on hand or you like tilapia, it can add variety to your protein and fish sources.

 

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

