Featured Food: Frog Legs

Strolling through Baesler’s market the other day, I drew short of a section containing frog legs. Growing up with a family hunters, I have not fond memories of my brother and dad adventuring out into the night to go frog gigging. Praying the entire time they would come back empty-handed. Fast forward to sitting at the dinning room table with ‘must eat if you ever want to get up from the table’ frog legs. Out of stubbornness and unwillingness to do what I was told or fear that I may like something with the ‘ick’ factor of frog legs, I crossed my arms, scowled and grudgingly took nibbles. Making it very evident I did not like eating them and I was not enjoying the taste. Looking back now, I know I overdid (I said I was proud and stubborn). What can I say I was young with the nickname whiner and I was not going to give them any satisfaction.

Honestly? They weren’t bad, I was just to wrapped up in a dramatic fit. The cliché ‘it takes like chicken’ comes to mind. Today, the evolved eater and foodie that I have become, I’d love to get my hands on some frog legs to serve up and blog. If you can get some, here are some of the numbers:

  • In South America, East Asia and African they are reputed to boost immune function, energy levels. and sex drive
  • high in protein
  • low in fat
  • low in calories
  • selenium
  • copper
  • phosphorus
  • riboflavin

Consequently I learned eating them raw may not be a good idea, due to the secretions they make in the skin. But if you want to try, they really are nutritionally equivalent to eating chicken.

 

This entry was posted in Foods, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

