Butternut Shepherd’s Pie

I don’t believe I’ve ever had shepherds pie in my whole life, that doesn’t mean I was explicitly excited when my grandma Dreher came to (and made) me with a recipe for one made with butternut squash. I just discovered butternut squash in November, and I have been a fan ever since! She found this recipe in Better Home and Gardens, so kudos to them, but we tweaked it to our liking (which is the best thing about recipes, you can tailor them to your own unique taste buds). Without further banter here is the deliciously tasty recipe!

Butternut Shepherd’s Pid

  • 2 1/2 pounds cubed butternut squash
  • 5 tbsp grass-fed butter (or coconut oil if you want a dairy-free option)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan (once again skip if you want dairy-free)
  • 1 tsp unrefined sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 lb ground beef (I personally would think ground venison would be exceptionally tasty here)
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (Olio Beato is my go to virgin)
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 cup broth (I like to make my own bone broths-which I also freeze into ice cubes for anytime I need a tummy soother)
  • 1 1/2 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp rosemary
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 cup green beans and carrots (again feel free to improvise here, we sure did)
  • Green Onion to garnish

To Make: Preheat oven to 425. Boil squash for about 15 minutes (until tender). Drain, mash with butter, Parmesan, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper. Meanwhile, cook the onions and mushrooms on a medium/high heat. Cook until tender (5 or so minutes). Add garlic, cook for another 2 minutes. Now add tomatoes, rosemary, and Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium and simmer for about 5 minutes. Stir in meat and vegetables. But in a sprayed baking pan. Cover with butternut squash puree.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. Garnish with green onions and you’re ready to go. This was so good!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Recipes, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butternut Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Pingback: Squash Soup with Faux Noodles | jittery cook

  2. Pingback: Savory Butternut Squash Bake - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

