Featured Food: Duck Eggs

I’ve been on a little bit of an egg kick (and a duck kick too I guess) lately. After doing quailPinned Image I realized I had not covered ducks before. Plus Rebecca told me her neighbor gives her fresh chicken eggs, as well as duck which she’d be willing to bring me some of. Once I began delving in I again found myself with another egg significantly more nutritious than the heavily consumed chicken egg. Here is how they stand up:

  • more omega-3
  • more alkaline
  • 2 times the vitamin A
  • twice the cholesterol
  • more vitamin E
  • more vitamin K2
  • more energy
  • 6 times the amount of vitamin D
  • more selenium, manganese, zinc, potassium, sodium, phosphorus, calcium, iron
  • higher levels of thiamin, niacin, riboflavin, pantothenic acid, folate, vitamin B6, vitamin B12 and retinol

Don’t forget that duck eggs are bigger. Plus, just like quail eggs, they are better for food allergies. Remember too that the darker and more yellow the yolk the more nutrients it contains!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Featured Food: Duck Eggs

  1. Pingback: Mr Reynard’s Dash ‘n Dine Is Open « The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment

  2. Pingback: Duck, Duck, Egg! | Wing and a Prayer Farm

Leave a Reply

