Featured Food: Fiddleheads

A spring time veggie // fiddleheadsI am a foodie. I love to eat food. I love to cook food. I love to take pictures of food. I love a good meal. A good dining experience. I love to learn about food. Imagine then my thrill upon stumbling upon this picture on Pinterest. A food I’ve never heard of (I know occasionally this happens)! This my friends are fiddlehead ferns (yes they’re even fun to type and say). I believe part of my deprived knowledge comes from the fact that these cute little ferns (ostrich and cinnamon varieties are the most common) are typically found on the east coast and I am of course am a Midwest girl ignorant to the curled ferns of the world. If you can find/have access to fiddleheads you want to take only the top two inches before the coil.

Types of Nutrients found in fiddleheads:

  • 22 calories, 3 carbohydrates, 2.8 proteins, 0.2 fat
  • Beta-carotene
  • vitamin C
  • niacin
  • potassium
  • iron
  • manganese
  • copper

They say they have a  unique nutty/grassy taste like an asparagus spinach baby. Hmm… I do love asparagus I think I could make fiddleheads happen! Cooking is key here because raw may irritate the stomach. Find this treasure this spring-notably in April. Possible recipes coming.

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Workout and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

