BC Basics to Eating

Pinned ImageEveryone is looking at eating. They’re striving towards their resolutions to lose weight. Often this can mean deprivation, excessive weight loss, egg whites, oatmeal and annihilation of fats. I’m going to keep this simple (if you want more detail search the site I have plenty more information on a variety of nutrients and individual foods). What to eat?

  • Number of meals: Do you only eat three? What is the proper number? There are so many conflicting suggestions on this. My suggestion: do what works best for YOU. What fits into your schedule. Learn to listen to your body. When do you experience hunger? I’ve read and tried intermittent fasting sometimes. I’ve eaten one meal a day or 2 or 5. I like the idea of 3. After reading the Weston Price and about gallbladder eating three meals allows for good digestion. For some 1 or 2 meals may not work because they may overconsume when they do get to eat. Three is a lovely number, but even better is one that you can do for life (it’s a lifestyle remember? Everyday you’re practicing your eating skills).
  • Protein: each meal needs a bit of protein. How much? This is going to vary according to the individual. Men (usually) need more protein because they have more muscle mass. Active individuals need more protein. They say you should meatget 70% grams of protein per pound of lean muscle if you’re fairly active. For example I have 107 pounds lean body mass. I’m active. Therefore I should aim for about 80 grams a day. If I eat three meals that’s about 26 per meal. That’s a little under 4 ounces of meat per meal (or about 4 eggs). Yikes I guess that looks more complicated than I intended for this post to be. Rule of thumb for most women would be 2 to 4 ounces of meat per meal (depending on how often you’re eating and your own size). Making sure you have protein at each meal helps maintain muscle tissue, as well as keeping you full and satisfied. Men could have from 4 upwards of 8 ounces of meat again depending on activity and muscle mass. With many diets you can lose muscle along the way. So besides potentially become weaker, you’re not changing. A pear just becomes a smaller pear or an apple becomes a smaller apple. You’re percentage of fat is not dramatically changing. Gone is the tone and firming look you may be aspiring for. What can you eat? Beef, chicken, turkey, pork (real bacon!), deer, elk, duck, goose, eggs, squirrel, rabbit, salmon, tuna, shrimp, lobster, etc. I’m not going to get into here but there is a hierarchy with meat and fish. Initially you may just focus on eating and cycling it. Really the most beneficial and overall healthy meat sources for your future are grass-fed meat or pasture-raised, pasture-raised eggs, and wild catches of fish.
  •  Fat: oh the folly of egg whites and Fat Free labels (don’t mean to break your heart but look on the back this usually means the food is laced with sugars or hidden sugars). Hell I used to believe this, it’s what they teach us. Then I began EVOO and fresh herbs....obsessed with fresh herbs.educating myself. Your body (notably your brain) loves and needs it for optimum health. However it despises the rancid s*** the government recommends. Run (literally) the opposite direction of vegetable and canola oils. Toxic. On the other hand there are plenty of beautiful tasty fats you need. First is fish oil, period, you must take it. One we don’t get enough omega-3/we get too much omega-6. Plus your brain craves the DHA. Next is a first pressed (look for a harvest date that means it has minimal processing because many EVOO’s are not actual virgins, oops) olive oil, for inflammation. Drizzle, don’t cook with it. Next is coconut oil. Great for cooking and your skin, it is a smaller chain, therefore it is instant energy (so long as you are a fat-burner rather than a sugar-burner, meaning you get energy by burning fat). Something else interesting, is that they’ve used it in studies with Alzheimer’s so your brain favors it as well. Butter can be a source of fat as well. I will note I like grass-fed raw better (warning many states have crappy laws about raw dairy). Again it’s a smaller chain, therefore think energy. It also is a great source of: vitamin A, vitamin D and Activator X (vitamin K2). Other sources of fat could be: tallow, lard, duck fat, avocados, oh and of course egg yolks. Shocker: I would eat the yolk before the white, that’s where all the nutrients are. Questions on cholesterol? Click the link for clarity.
  • Carbs: I don’t eat grains, starches, or sugars, period. I just saw a special this week on how sugar is toxic. Think that you’re poisoning yourself or your family every time you consume it. These three  spike insulin levels, so you become dependent on them (they are addictive, truth food really is an addiction like alcohol and cigarettes and judging by the Pinned Imageobesity rates I’d say it’s prevalence is staggering). Then you’re riding the highs and lows. I don’t eat them. I don’t crave them. I run and thrive off fat as a fuel source. Grains are a little trickier. Technically you can probably soak, ferment and treat them to eat, however who wants to go through these processes? Plus for me (eating on a budget), I’m not going to pay out the a** for these products. Instead I enjoy the beautiful fruits and vegetables of the world. Something thermogenic and green is a star in my eyes. Eating is an exercise. Fats and protein satisfy you (carbs do not that’s part of the reason you crave more shortly after eating). Steak satisfies, as do vegetables. Your body has to work to break them down. They’re going to stay with you longer than drinking meals (yep I don’t believe in nor do I do juicing or shakes), plus they’ll provide more nutrients. Fruits are a little touchier than vegetables. Fructose affect people differently (just like lactose in dairy does). So for some they may want to lean more towards fruit. I also usually suggest grabbing fruits like berries, cherries, plums, apples, oranges and grapefruits, and leaving the bananas, watermelon, and pineapples on the self.

Alright I admit some of that got a little complicated and your head may be spinning. Here is a highlight:

Stay away from grains, starches and sugars. Do eat: protein (in moderate numbers) with each meal. Do eat: fat, just not vegetable oils. Do eat fruits and vegetables.

Some may see this as limiting but I’ve posted tons of recipes on this site, plus I have two cookbooks with over 300 recipes and I have a list for another cookbook that I’m cutting down from 500 (and it could have been even more than this). Boredom is a bulls*** excuse for not wanting to change.

This entry was posted in Diet, Longevity, Nutrition, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

