Featured Food: Cabbage

Pinned ImageI know I’ve featured cabbage a couple of times but it is the New Year (and Tuesday my grandma made some bomb quicky pig with cauliflower rice replacement), plus anyone who knows me, knows I have a bit of an obsession with cabbage. It is my go to vegetable of choice. I could eat it everyday kind of addiction (I know my addictions: tea, research, and more are a bit off the beaten path). If you’ve already hit the cabbage in 2013 here are some of the possible benefits (not to mention how inexpensive it, therefore denying you the ‘it healthy is expensive’ excuse).

  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin C
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin B
  • fiber
  • Phytonutrients, the color especially denote this. That means the purple color of this cabbage is rich with anthocyanin. These hold antioxidant power, which allows you to neutralize/decrease free radical damage which can cause inflammation which chronically over time lead to disease.

Pretty short and sweet for your first food of the year. Cabbage= it’s green, it’s a vegetable=thermogenic (takes more work for your body to break it down than the amount of calories it contains)=good too eat!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Featured Food: Cabbage

  1. jsresults says:

    Damn I might have to get my cabbage patch ON!

  2. adrianna80 says:

    I often cook cabbage on the pan with onion, olive,than shredded cabbage.In the end I add cut pickles and canned beans, salt pepper and it is really delicious:) Love your blog

Leave a Reply

