Recipe Challenge: #1 Chocolate Cake Truffles

IMG_20121202_081949I am into challenges. We currently have our 30 day Kettlebell Swing Challenge proceeding,  but yesterday a thought hit me: a 30 day Recipe Challenge. Obviously I love to cook so this is not too big a stretch, but really it has the potential to benefit others (i.e. YOU). Why do we have to wait until the year is new, until the ball drops and calendars have 2013 written across the top, to focus? To make resolution. To move towards our goals. To be good. To make ourselves better. Why?

I personally am not waiting around for 2013, so my life can magically begin. Do it now! So here we go, 30 days and 30 recipes for you before the new year begins. I will have dessert recipes to get you through the holidays eating revised cookies, keeping you a Fat-Burner, rather than sugar laced junk that leaves you feeling bad and teetering towards Sugar-Burnerdom. I will have savory recipes. I will have traditional recipes. I will have a bit of everything for everyone. Some of these are pure Brittany fantasy. Some are inspired by other dishes, reconceptualized by me. Some are traditional recipes tweaked for my liking. Take them! Take them all, regardless. On so many sites I see copyright and taunt warnings. We get offended that others take our stuff. I am here to share. To help others adopt a healthier lifestyle, to them. Share them, claim them as your own, but most importantly enjoy them. Enjoy being a fat-burner and enjoy doing your best (remember how I just said it’s a lifestyle? Practice!)

Recipe #1 is a mistake. Yep you heard right, I Brittany messed up. A recipe gone awry. I corrected with complete impromptu genius. These we are calling (thanks to my mom for the title) chocolate Cake Truffles. Without further babble and soap box chatter, here is the recipe:

Chocolate Cake Truffles:

Cake:

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut nectar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup almond oil (recommendation: coconut oil or butter)

To Make: mix dry ingredients (cocoa, flour, cinnamon, powder, nectar) in a bowl. In a separate bowl combine wet ingredients (egg, vanilla, oil). Now blend the two together. Pour into a greased pan. Bake at 350 until a toothpick comes out cleanly (mine baked quickly as I put it in a smaller pan). It appeared dry. I didn’t like it. I begin throwing in ingredients, I believe this is all I added.

  • 3 tbsp pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans

To Make: Now the mixture is kind of wet. I took pieces and molded them into bite size balls. Place in freezer for a bit. While they were setting up, I began mixing the chocolate ganache I used on the s’mores pie.

Ganache:

  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder

Process.

Assembly: Take balls out of the freezer, roll in chocolate, sprinkle with pecans, and place in cute Holiday themed mini cupcake tins. That’s it! A rich chocolately treat to go with yesterday’s post. Enjoy, more recipes coming each day.

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Recipes, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

