Featured Food: Spirulina, Chlorella, and Blue-Green Algae

I’d seen spirulina floating around on one of the health sites I visit, but my first encounter with it was with kombucha. Green komucha…hmm. Of course looking at the ingredient list and seeing something I didn’t know much about I had to do some digging to see what it’s about. I want to know what I’m putting in my body. Turns out that these three are found in inland waters like lakes and ponds. Think pond scum. For all you history lovers like me, spirulina has actually been used for a while. The Aztec and Saharan Africans have used the stuff for centuries. Liking to dry it to spread on tortillas, vegetables or grains. What’s in it?

  • Protein: surprising it is 60% protein and contain your essential amino acids. Possible alternative for vegetarians? Possibly is my vote.
  • Carotenoids: the vivid color should make this a giveaway
  • Minerals: although be leary of products claiming B12, it’s not a form that humans (you) can utilize, some I’m sorry meat wins out still with B12 or better yet liver!
  • Iron
  • Vitamin K

Now let’s look at digestion. Spirulina looks like it is the easiest to not only digest, but absorb. With a little more love and care, chlorella’s tough outer cell can be handled. It is known for its ability to bind to heavy metals and whisk them out of the body (hmm..heavy metals…new post coming your way very soon). Blue-Green Algae is believed to have healing powers, but you better freeze dry it, as that will denature the potential toxins.

So now that we know the profile, wha the hell do you do with it? Getting it in a powdered form is probably the easiest and most convient way. From there you can put it in shakes, pudding, bars, and as I’ve already mentioned you can find it in kombucha! Be creative and play around.

 

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Featured Food: Spirulina, Chlorella, and Blue-Green Algae

  1. Chlorella says:

    I have read above Featured Food: Spirulina, Chlorella, and Blue-Green Algae about that how can be is good for me. Chlorella will be the solely plant on the planet which has the capacity to multiply four times each and every 20 hours, a great quality which hardly any other identified plant has. I am so impressed to website content if you want more details visit my website.

Leave a Reply

