Lavender Lush

Do you ever notice how things just appear in your life and then they reappearLavender and reappear? Well lavender has had that haunting effect on me. I’d always seen it mentioned on some health sites. But then it found its way into a book I was reading (and a warning I tend to take on things from stories or they spurn new research), as the Native American grandmother owned a lavender farm. So the scent and healing qualities of lavender were pushed at me and I began to take on a nostalgic yearning to learn about lavender, to have it around. When it was time to buy dinner candles I finally had an excuse to purchase the lavender scent I’d been overdosing myself on anytime I went to the store and hit up a smell-good aisle. Next my dear friend little Mary gave me a bar of soap in my care package, but not just any soap, lavender soap. That was it, I had to take the plunge and feed my lavender desire and find out what’s really the deal. Here we, some fun/beneficial facts about lavender so you too can become a lavender lush:

  • Your hair loves lavender oil, especially for pesky dandruff and to fight the flake
  • polyphenols in lavender can help combat the bad bacteria in the gut (remember our posts on flora, a gut dominant with good flora fights infection and disease)
  • Need to chill out? Turns out smelling lavender can put you in a relaxed state, lowering heart rate and blood pressure. Posts some up on your nightstand and say hello to sweet dreams!
  • Anti-inflammatory, what a beautiful word! Go figure lavender also possesses this quality, making it great for that itch you’ve got or that redness or that bit of swelling.
  • Put it in food, the phytonutrients will give you a boost, plus it adds a unique quality. Last year while I was in San Fransisco I picked up a lavender salt to use on the 4 dozen hard-boiled eggs that I had packed with me. Again I am a strange bird when it comes to seasonings, but I did rather enjoy it.
  • Historical bits for all you cultural junkies like myself: until WWI it was used to disinfect wounds. The great English folk placed in the hats (bonnets) to prevent headaches and sunstroke. Hospitals used it to disinfect, as well as an antiseptic.
  • Common uses today: anxiety, depression, mental exhaustion, insomnia, scrapes and wounds, digestive problems, headaches, skin problems and women’s health problems

Smell it, massage with it, eat it, the options are lengthy and extensive so enjoy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Body/Spiritual, Physiology, Stress, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lavender Lush

  1. Mary Auten says:

    Just had to add, my dear little friend Brittany, I have a bush of lavender outside my door. When I come and go I brush against it and it emits that wonderful relaxing aroma. Everyone should have one. Thank you for researching this, I did not know all the qualities of lavender.

  2. cristalcurrier says:

    Love Lavender! Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

