Featured Food: Summer Squash

Today’s post will be brief. Because my grandma has been on a yellow squash kick and since I have a zucchini in the frig waiting for me to make brownies and bread with and because it is so versatile, I felt it was definitely the right time to shine a light on summer squash. Everyone knows that cauliflower is like my go-to food (pizza crust, rice, sushi, mac n cheese and even brownies), but the last few orientations I’ve done, I’ve also been singing the praises of zucchini. After putting it through the food slicer the other day, I found myself with beautiful thin ribbons of zucchini. This could be thrown in any dish and used as a noodle replacement (as you’ll see in the last picture). I’ve used it to make tater tots, individual pizzas and like I mentioned I’m getting ready to make brownies and bread (muffins would be great too). It does have some great antioxidant power. Not only because of it’s excellent standing with manganese, vitamin C and vitamin A. Plus a fine group of nutrients from carotenoids:

  • alpha-carotene
  • beta-carotene
  • lutein
  • zeaxanthin
  • beta-cryptoxanthin

Summer squash also contains some nutrients important to metabolism and blood sugar:

  • B vitamins (like 1, 2, and 3, folate, choline)
  • zinc
  • magnesium
  • omega-3

Traditionally they have used summer squash not only for it’s anti-microbial properties, but it has been used to decrease urination frequency (commonly seen in men with BPH). Make sure to eat the whole food too: skin and seeds (making it important that you look for organic). So while it’s in season go ahead and try this versatile summer treat and once I make the brownies I’ll post them (hopefully Sunday).

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Featured Food: Summer Squash

  1. Pingback: The Beauty of Summer Squash « TRUE BEAUTY U

  2. Pingback: Seasonal Eating: Summer Squash

Leave a Reply

