The Perfect Diet?

Is there such a thing as the perfect diet? As you can tell from the chart, it can be confusing. What do we believe with Primal/Paleo becoming mainstream and then you have hard-core Paleo believers. Some things I believe, there is a lot of overlay, but some variances as well. For the Body Change program I’ve taken bits from all over the place after my own research and experiments, but is there one plan for all? I can give people a general guideline, but is it the same? Lately I’ve been finding, ‘Well can you just give me a menu and tell me exactly what to eat?’ Of course I can’t do that, just like I can not do the exercise or eat the food for you. It’s so much easier to be the sheep blindly following along, doing what we’re told, but what do we learn? What do we learn about ourselves and our bodies. It’s sad that some don’t seem interested in what the food is doing for them, just like how some want a pill for a quick fix. But that’s the problem, it’s not a quick fix and we don’t learn how to maintain or think for ourselves. We want to see in black in white, but as with life, there is a grey area. Eating and dieting (hate this word) is not cookie cutter. ‘Well how much weight can lose?’ People are not cookie cutter, even though the difference in our DNA is minute, we are still all very different and as we’re going to be looking at there are a lot of variables (lifestyle choices) that effect weight loss. Some people may be able to do dairy for instance, some need more protein, etc. There are a lot of current health concerns that we have to consider as well. That being said there are a general set of guidelines to follow and it’s not the bullshit fed to us by the FDA and government. “What your saying goes against what we’ve been taught,” is what I’ve been hearing lately. Bingo, but with blog after blog I hope that eventually it will set in (it’s become so apparent and clicked for me, that I sometimes forget that what I’m saying goes against what is conventionally taught). Why aren’t we being told this? There is mounting amounts of research and material out there now, but again money and power are going to determine what’s published and recommended (besides the government can’t just all of a sudden say, ‘oh by the way us telling you stay away from fat 40-years ago, well we were just yanking your chain, fat doesn’t make you fat silly!’ I personally think this would be awesome but unlikely to help it). So what do we have to do? Think for ourselves. I’ve been reading Matched (yet another young adult dystopia), one of the central themes is choice. The government takes care of them monitors food and exercise and education so they can live a long healthy life, but what the main character learns is that she is a product of the Society. What does she want, though? Who does she want to be with, etc? Do you want to be a product of conventional thought? I sure as hell don’t look what following them has done for our country? Heart disease and obesity have risen? I think (like with most of my decisions) that I’ll do the opposite and find out the truth for myself. What do I hold to be true?

  • Grains, I don’t like them. What this is the bottom of the pyramid! Yep I’m going to squash the big boys first. I care about health first, a family member has a bet to lose weight with his friends but doesn’t want to give up grains. I am not going to subscribe something that I don’t believe in. For me this is more than some contest or something to try out so I feel better in a bikini. This is for a lifetime (for me to reach 150!). What if I said that grains were toxic, would that change your mind? If you thought that the Cheerios you feed your little tots is toxic, would you serve it to them? Would you poison them, would you poison yourself? Eating a couple times isn’t going to poison you for life, but persistent consumption is going to cause problems. I love this:

 cereal grains are always competing against predators for survival. Unlike animals, plants can’t run away from us. They had to evolve other mechanisms to protect themselves

Click, click goes the wheels in my head, genius! What do I not like about grains? Their biggest offense is leaching onto my vitamins and minerals stores, taking away the vital nutrients that I trying to get to nourish myself. They don’t stop there, they are greedy and want to damage the lining of my precious gut, messing with digestion and absorption. When I think grain I think Havoc, they are not going anywhere near my mouth so that they can harm me!

  • I hate omega-6 coming from industrial seed oils! What have we been told to use? We’ve been brainwashed into believing that PUFA’s coming from these oils is healthy. They’re imposters! Cheap to produce and rancid before they go into your system, its obvious why we’d be told to consume them. They have a great self life, while also inflaming and poisoning us again!
  • Sugar, we eat too much! Bad part is how our sugar consumption has changed and foods are laced with high fructose corn syrup (we’ll look at sugars later but they’ll say ‘sugar is sugar’, oy!) so we have slanted our glucose/fructose intake. Naturally occurring fructose is not an enemy but this processed crap has no nutritional value and wrecks havoc on your systems.
  • Fat, I love it! We’re going to cover this, but you’re body needs fat, it needs cholesterol and it needs saturated fat (don’t worry we’re going to debunk these rumors too and clear these nutrients integrity). We need to look at sources of fat intake, though
  • Protein: you can’t store it. Amino acids are your foundation and vegetarians aren’t going to get this. We were made to eat meat, so embrace! Stay away from the cheaply and unethically raised grocery store meats that are nutritionally inferior to the grass-fed and wild animal products.
  • Organic fruits and vegetables: I don’t trust GMO’s, so it’s better to safe than sorry. Pay for it now, rather than in life (buy seasonally and support your local economy).

Now into some of those grey areas. Dairy, I can’t protest against RAW grass-fed dairy. This definitely something that you have to experiment with your own (I should probably note if someone has some kind of allergy or inflammation, etc. they may benefit from a stricter food intake, but they’ll have to again try things out themselves to see). It’s been consumed by many traditional societies and you’ll find all kinds of wonderful information on it on the Weston A. Price website. Fermented is great too! In the case of dairy, this means kefir and yogurt (because they’re already partly broken down, they’re often easier to digest for those with lactose intolerance). Actually I would recommend fermenting anything, because it often increases nutritional content and your flora loves it. Nuts? Again with a healthy digestive systems, nuts can be a good inclusion, but they too have some omega-6 and phytic acid. Measures can be taken to soak and toast to maximize quality. Probably should mention here about grains too. Some (like the Weston) will include grains, however they have to be properly treated (fermenting, sprouting, soaking) in order to decrease antinutrients. Some people’s stomachs can handle this, others can’t. We are really going to dive into some of these topics the coming weeks, but this is a nice starting spot for the BC Lifestyle. It should be looked at as a template, take the guidelines and experiment and don’t forget that we’re all different too. But whatever you do, don’t look at it as a diet and stress over food (we’ll check out stress, but here’s a hint, you can eat all the right things but if you’re stressed to the max you’re not going to change). Follow the 80/20 rule if you want, to minimize this affect. Don’t try to be perfect. Look at the food as nourishment. Often times, as I pointed out the other day, the mind is the biggest obstacle is the mind. I know this, I can tell you anything on food, but sometimes I get in my own way (often too much information. I know it’s hard to believe but too much info can leave you confused too). We’re good on focusing on certain parts of our chain (I’ve got it down, for instance, that I will never touch grains or sugars), but forget about the parts that aren’t as strong, the areas were we lose confidence (for me this is portion control, or sometimes I lack balance, I’ll be so strict and then afterwards I don’t know what to do). We’ve got to more on down the chain past the strong bonds, and work on the weaker ones. Identify these (whether its exercise or sleep or stress or cravings) and focus there. There is no one fix solution to health, there are too many variables (you being one of them). Take the tools and experiment with the fuzzy lines for yourself. This is how we learn, from crawling to walking and so on, we had to test the waters before we jumped in. Sometimes we may fall (I joyfully face plant all the time), but this is an opportunity to learn/grow and try another route. Recovery is key. Don’t let being afraid of making a ‘mistake’ keep you from even taking a step. Learn to listen to your body, be in tune with it and aware. You’ll feel better. Happy experimenting! Don’t be the sheep, think for yourself. Knowledge is power, dominate your own life, make your own choices!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Longevity, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Diet?

  1. Pingback: Tsunami Of Sugar « Mindful Lifestyle – Devoted to Healing & Being

Leave a Reply

