The Power of Thought

“Health, wealth, beauty, and genius are not created; they are only manifested by the arrangement of your mind–that is, by your concept of yourself, and your concept of yourself is all that you accept and consent to as true.” – Neville
This post kind of goes along with what I wrote last week, while reading Wishes Fulfilled I got the idea to write about the power of the mind, but for some reason stalled, after talking with my father yesterday I realize that now is the time for me to write this (I promise it’s the last of my inspirational talk for a while because I’m going to be hitting your inboxes hard with some science in research the next weeks so this is the last frilly piece). As a 20-something, its natural to go through this period of self-discovery and figuring out the world (or maybe this is life in general), however I’ve finally realized that I’m not trying to figure out life. Life is being. What? This is exactly what me and my father discussed last night (although I’m technically supposed to meditate on this for a week). Why  people are overweight, or why they’re unhappy, etc. I read a lot of inspirational books, especially eastern spirituality and like my dad pointed out it doesn’t matter what religion you’re reading or whichever author (Dyer, Elkhart, the Dali Lama, Thoreau and more) they’re all saying the same thing. It’s how I’ve closed my motivational blogs the last year: BE. We talk about children and my brother, perfect examples of this. Not judging or thinking they have to be or do something. They merely just do. Same things with animals. A squirrel is a squirrel doing squirrely things. They’re not thinking of what they have to do or want to do. These words do not exist. There is no such thing as Want or Have to. All that we need we already have, all we have to do is choose it. Isn’t it crazy that we can have anything just by changing our thoughts? Just like the Neville quote says and just like Thoreau says: It is never too late to give up our prejudices. In order to live a long healthy life, we need to SEE and let ourselves be healthy. I’m going to give you all this science this week, but really it’s not going to get you anywhere if you don’t change your thoughts. You can’t think that you want to eat sugar or that you have to exercise. You simple just do it, it has to become part of your unconscious thought, not part of your ego-driven thoughts that are so heavily influenced by others and by conventional upbringing. Wishes Fulfilled is chalk full of examples of the power of the mind. He starts off talking of a young girl with paralysis on one side of her face, who cures herself with thinking of herself as perfect health (of course it’s not instantaneously paralysis free,but with vigilant thinking, despite others telling her she still had paralysis, all  she had to do was keep telling herself that she was paralysis-free). Another example was Anita Moojani, who had a near-death experience only to come back cured of lymphoma. Here’s what I loved from her:
From what I saw, it looked like we are energy first, and physical is only a result of expressing our energy. And we can change our physical reality if we change our energy.
See energy, thoughts again here. If you don’t know Dr. Dyer himself was diagnosed with leukemia a few years ago. “What is labeled ‘disease’ is actually your body’s natural healing reflex. If you cut yourself, your body knows what to do. This is how I deal with diagnosis of leukemia. I choose to feel good, to trust my body to use its inherent wisdom from healing to treat my diagnostic numbers in medical lab reports as what I’m supposed to be experiencing.” Wow, how powerful is that? But it’s true, I tell myself how healthy I am and how rockstar my immune system is and do I get sick? No, but I also don’t let myself feel like I am. I remember times when I was younger thinking, ‘I may be getting sick,’ willing and urging myself into sickness with my thoughts. So often we take the diagnosis and blindly follow the diagnosis. When I asked my sister if she ever is afraid going to the doctors for all these conditions, she says that she has come to expect it, she knows that she’ll probably get diabetes or MS. Wrong thought, these are serious conditions and you are already allowing this to be your future. Food is healing, thoughts are feeling. You have to affirm your health and change your energy or you’ll remain sick, unhealthy, overweight, unhealthy. We create so many of these problems ourselves. Just like the stress I’m going to discuss, it does not exist we create it. Me and Brennan joke about it all the time (what is this stress thing people keep saying they’ve got? Have you ever bought or seen stress?), but it’s true and it’s like the little note I have on the computer for my mother when she’s doing bills: there is no such thing as stress, only people thinking stressful thoughts. When I’m having  a moment and I tell my friend I’ll go for a hike and things will be fine, she tells me: Brittany things in life aren’t always simple. Wrong, things are only hard and challenging if you let them. So the key to a long healthy life is to just do it. Here, however are some of the tools which I consider to be simple and  helpful ways to attain this:
  • Nourish my body with foods that are not toxic (grains, sugars, and vegetable oils), but are rich in nutrients that will fuel my body (butter, grass-fed beef, pasture-raised eggs, organic fruits and vegetables, fermented foods, bone broths, coconut oil). INSULIN CONTROL.
  • Don’t let stress into my life. First I change my thoughts, but sometimes if I’m really struggling I’ll meditate or hike. Stress and cortisol are just as detrimental to that healthy life as eating.

     
    ” You have the power to create the naturally stress-free and tranquil life you desire: You can either activate thoughts that produce stress within you, or activate thoughts that make stress impossible. It’s your choice.” ~ Dr. Wayne W. Dyer
  • Sleep: your body will thank you especially when you follow circadian rhythm and wake up refreshed and restored.
  • Exercise: not chronic bouts of exercise, but lift something every once in a while and run some sprints once a week. Don’t let your thoughts get in the way. Dad says people don’t  comply here because they want it to be ‘fun’ . He’s right that they have to let their unconscious take over and not think of it as something they have to do or want to do, but they must merely do it, just like brushing their teeth. I think the fun part is part of that thought thing. You have the power to change your thoughts no matter what you’re doing. If you want it to be fun, think that way. If you think you dread something (just like going to work), then you remain miserable. Just do it, and you want it to be fun then just have fun.

Don’t cloud your thoughts with trying to be healthy or trying to be thin, because then you loose it. Keep it simple and just do these things, reaffirm and align your thoughts with your habits. Alright I’m going to get off my soap box for a while. If you want to be healthy (or anything for that matter), then BE.

I am that I am and I am healthy!

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Longevity, Nutrition, Stress, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

