Featured Food: Cucumbers

Today I learned that cucumbers are the fourth most cultivated vegetable in the world and now I have passed it on to you, but don’t worry I actually have some important nutrient facts coming on cucumbers. On working on my page sites (check out my Grocery List page), I realized some foods that I have not covered before, hence cucumbers. I’ve always enjoyed the crisp, freshness of cucumbers! In last night’s cooking class I made water with cucumber, lemon, and mint (my grandmother said it’s supposed to enhance the flavor of the food, if it does I don’t really know but it’s a nice idea, plus a refreshing spin on traditional water). So here are some things about cucumbers that you may actually want to know:

  • Lignans. Now I’m going to throw some big words at you that are the lignans found in cucumbers: lariciresinol, pinoresinol, and secoisolariciresinol). Now that we’ve got that mouth-full out-of-the-way this is what you need: connecting this to a reduction in cardiovascular disease and several types of cancer like breast, uterine, and ovarian.
  • Antioxidant and inflammation: obviously we love things that decrease inflammation because that’s where our bodies run into trouble with disease.This is most likely due to its collection of phytonutrients.
  • Cucurbitacins: looking at this in link with cancers

A long overdue post, now you know the benefits of cucumbers!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Longevity, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

