Creating Your Own Healthy Community

Again with synchronicity, I’m taking cues from my Dr Dyer, and noticing all the signs in my life. Open your eyes and you’ll discover a lot. A couple of weeks ago I tweeted myself an article on sustainability and today I was trying to decide what to write about when I found this article on How to Start an Organic Food Buying Club on my Facebook feed, instantly upon reading it I knew I found my article for the day. Working on the cooking page for the website (you’ll notice I’ve upgraded the blog so it houses our complete website now so check it out), it reinforced this idea of mine. Every time I read inspirational books and I really ask myself, ‘Brittany what do you want to do?’ The voice in my head says, ‘have my own health market stocked with all my favorite products so my clients can have them available for a health life.’ When I read this article, it occurred to me that this could be a step towards that. We already have a small store, but I want more, more products. We need our own BC Buying Club, I already have the facility to hold it. So what are the benefits of buying organically in bulk? In the article they site a study that found:

We could save 89% on costs by buying organic bulk.

Pretty stellar numbers, plus we could save hundreds of millions of pounds of waste from going into landfills! More, manufacturers could save 54% in material and delivery cost in selling in bulk. Sounds like a win-win for everyone. For local farms, small businesses, the environment, and the consumers who are not only saving money but stocking up on healthy foods. With all the GM controversy and the Pink Slime, I think it’s really important that we look at where we are getting our foods and if we can unite together and strive for this we can all benefit. Here are the list of benefits from the article:

  • Access to high-quality, natural and organic products at bulk or wholesale prices.
  • Buying clubs build a sense of community amongst the members.
  • Members gain a greater connection to their local small businesses, farms and ranches.
  • Members share opinions and learn about products from each other.
  • Buying in bulk also reduces the amount of packaging that is produced by the manufacturer.
  • Reducing carbon emissions due to shipping only one order per club purchase vs. if members ordered individually.
  • Purchasing products from businesses, farms and ranches that share similar values as your club.

We could free ourselves of the big food industry and grocery stores that are concerned only about money. Producing cheap food, with stable self lives, disregarding what it actually does for our health. Be in control of what you put in your body. Now I’d like to turn to the other tweeted article, 13 Ways to Create a Sustainable Food System. Farming:

10% of the country’s farms collect 3/4 of federal farm subsidies.

Does this seem skewed to you? That’s probably because it is. Money, money, money that’s all it is about! Check out the article for the author’s solution. Back to the Buying Club. They listed some sites for wholesale vendors and I’ve added some of my own:

Wilderness Family Naturals

Mountain Rose Herbs

Benefit Your Life

US Wellness Meats

Selina Naturally

Green Pastures

We don’t need a Whole Foods in Terre Haute, we need to band together and take control of getting the foods we want. If you’re a visitor to this site, then in our own communities we need to get together with like-minded health individuals in the community to make a change. Clearly there are so many benefits!

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Longevity, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creating Your Own Healthy Community

  1. Pingback: Sunday, May 6th | One Mom's Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

