Zumba Nation

Zumba has taken over the nation, and as we were at first leery of the dance/exercise mania, we have finally given in to the trend. A  dance exercise regime that incorporates Latin music and today’s hits take places in arenas from churches to skating rinks, and now in Body Change. Giving in to demands, we decided to try it. Going to first zumba class a month ago, I was skeptical and stubborn about giving up my kettlebells, like I was cheating on them. Coming away from my first class with my sister, though, I have to admit that it was fun. It reminded me of a night out at the Bally with my friends where I could just let loose and be myself (although here I was attempting to follow along, even though much improvisation was had). There are some benefits to the classes:

  • on average burn 800 calories for an hours worth of dancing (this is going to vary from person-to-person, exertion, etc.)
  • incorporates an array of muscles
  • accessible to all ages
  • stress release
  • available for any level
  • social
  • body awareness

Most importantly it is fun and that is something that a lot of people lack in exercise, as it is something that they dread. We will be holding zumba classes here on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 5:30 pm, but if you are not local, they are rising everywhere, so I’m sure you will be able to find a local class. For more on our programs check out www.bodychange.net.

This entry was posted in Exercise, Weight Loss, Workout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

