Making Grass-Fed Accessible

I feel a little guilty, like I may have been holding out on you guys, but after placing my own order I now have my own complete assessment that I give on U.S. Wellness Meats. As I’ve preached before and as we’ll review shortly, grass-fed is where it’s at health wise. Who completely knows what they’re doing to those stock supercows that provide the meat at the traditional grocery store? I don’t trust it and I don’t want to put it in my body because of all their injections, treatment and inferior quality of the nutrients that my body yearns for. I know and have been to several local grass-fed farms and am a faithful client (however recommending them all the time I find lowers my own findings), but sometimes I can’t find some of the things I need (for instance last month I made a bone broth with ox tail and became addicted, only to find myself with a shortage

and lack of ox tail anywhere or when I did a post on Pemmican last summer). Therefore I began searching for someplace where I could get grass-fed products, cue in U.S. Wellness Meats (www.grasslandbeef.com) that I had seen on several other sites. Now cue in last week when I get my tax check and could fulfill my wildest grass-fed fantasies (I think it’s pretty standard by now that in some instances I am not your average 24-year-old). Friday I look with eagerness at the approaching FedEx worker praying that the box he is carrying contains my goodies. Sure enough ‘perishable’ on the top. I open it up hastily to behold all of glorious/nutritious food and let complete elation take over from there. What to sample first and what to use? I place the bones in the freezer to save for a later date and a guaranteed awesome bone broth. I tear into the pemmican, cut myself a little slice and let my taste buds take over. It is clear that they crave fat, as this is something a sugar-burner would definitely not find palatable and bland, but I love it. Next time I take a trip this will be food of choice instead of hard-boiled eggs (if you want to learn more about pemmican just click the link). Next I decide to try a slice of liverwurst and a slice of head cheese (my first time trying either). For some offal is not appealing and they have childhood nightmares of the stuff, but I have to say I found both to be very pleasurable and they may be a way to sneak in some offal every once in a while. With these I’ve found a way to get in beef tongue, heart, liver and kidneys! Lastly I save the tallow. I will be covering this on Friday, but tallow is rendered beef fat (lard). They frequently sale out of it, so I was besides myself when I found it to be in stock when I ordered it. I cooked my next meal of bison and cabbage in it and have to say that it made a great addition to my broth to complete a homey/hearty meal that was satisfying without being a portionally large meal. I have to say I give the company two thumbs up and am thoroughly in love. Check out their site, it is easy to navigate, has lots of helpful information (including recipes), and they have a variety of products (beef to poultry to rabbit to bison to pork to lamb to fish) from entails to cuts of meat to bacon to sausage. They use all natural products and no nitrates so their sausages would make a great meal as well. Why do I care so much that it is grass-fed and why is it better for me? Here is a quick list to remind you of the benefits:

  • lower in fat
  • higher in omega-3
  • more antioxidants
  • higher in CLA (anti-carcinogenic)
  • more vitamin D
  • higher in B12, folic acid, thiamin, riboflavin, calcium, magnesium, and potassium
  • lutein
  • the animals are treated with more compassion (I’ve met many grass-fed farmers and this is what I take away the most)
  • if you’re into ‘going green’ raising animals on grass is  better for the environment

To find grass-fed farmers near you can also check out www.eatwild.com for a state-by-state listing. If you’re in the Terre Haute area I love the Swiss Connection, L & A Farms, and Royer Farms. The benefits of eating locally of course is that not only do you save on shipping, but you support your local community as well. Check out farmer’s markets as well (in Terre Haute there is one the first Saturday of each month inside of Clabber Girl and every Saturday during the summer). If you’re wanting more selections than what your local farmers provide I definitely recommend the Wellness Meats. Be prepared it usually cost a little more (but maybe if we demanded more quality meat we could change this), but you are paying for quality and nourishment. Like I say it’s better to pay more now than in medications or worse your health and life further down the road. I hope you enjoyed, because this is something I truly feel passionate about, as do all the farmers that I have met (they care about not only you but the animals as, not just the best way to make cheap easy food that sacrifices quality, like much of the food industry tries to do). For more on our programs check out www.bodychange.net.

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Physiology, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Grass-Fed Accessible

  1. Pingback: Featured Food: Tallow | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

  2. Pingback: Red Meat? | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

Leave a Reply

