Featured Food: Ghee

Related to yesterday’s post on butter, we are looking at ghee. Ghee for those of you who don’t know (and I admit I’d never heard of it until recently) is the milk solids separated from the liquids. This leaves a pure, clear and amber-colored fat. Ghee has been used for thousands of years and is also known as clarified butter.  Again though, it’s important to reiterate that grass-fed organic ghee is the desired product. It has many of the same benefits as butter does:

  • contains fat-soluble vitamins
  • contains short-chain fatty acids that are easily absorbed by the body and readily used as an energy source. Also contain fewer calories than longer chains of fatty acids.
  • some believe that it helps to promote healthy/glowing skin
  • it’s lactose free, which is beneficial to anyone with any kind of lactose intolerance
  • it helps assimilate nutrients
  • has no salt
  • contains CLA

It’s also a great choice to cook with because of its high smoke content. Ghee is very stable and it can be left at room temperature for up to a year without losing freshness or flavor. It can be used in place of other cooking oils. I’ve just gotten turned on to this, as we have started carrying it and I must say it was love at first bite. I’ve prepared eggs twice a day the same way for over 4 months and the eggs I prepared with the ghee have been the best eggs I’ve ever had hands down (plus I also used a new Hawaiian salt and the combination resulted in my life-altering eggs). I’ve stir-fryed it with vegetables (I’ve gotten my grandkids to eat broccoli with it!), I’ve cooked my offal in it, and I’ve baked some stellar gluten-free cookies in it. Grass-fed ghee is definitely a great fat-burner fuel source to add to the grass-fed butter, coconut oil, and extra virgin olive oil. For more on our fat-burner weight loss programs check out our blog at bodychange.net.

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Featured Food: Ghee

  1. Pingback: Children’s Week: Pre-Conception, Pregnancy and Lactation | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

  2. Pingback: Weekend Recipe Wrap-Up | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

  3. Pingback: Featured Food: Kim’s Cabbage | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

  4. Pingback: Meal of the Week: Flavored Ghee | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

Leave a Reply

