Macadamia Nut Oil for antioxidant support

-Blog by Brittany. I’ve got macadamia on the brain. I finish my three months of focused eating with a photo shoot on Saturday and what am I looking forward to eating afterward? Macadamia nuts! So I wanted to look a further at them, but not just the nut, but the oil. I’ve had this discussion with my father that I really enjoy using macadamia oil. For one I love the smell (I want like a candle or lotion that smells like that-it’s amazing), but I honestly enjoy the rich creamy flavor that it provides. It’s great as a salad dressing, I like to cook my vegetables with it and sprinkle cinnamon over the top, I’d use it to cook fruit for my nephews, it’s good in the ProDessert protein pudding, you could use it virtually anywhere from savory to sweet.  I get my father’s point that I still need to focus on olive oil (for my hydroxytyrosol and antioxidant support) and coconut oil (for medium-chain fatty-acids), but macadamia oil has some redeeming qualities and I think deserves a closer look for another great oil to provide variety and flavor profile to a fat-burner lifestyle. We’ll start with some of the reasons that chefs like to use it. The oil has a great shelf life and a high smoke point for cooking (410-453 degrees). Next thing of importance is that when compared to other oils like sesame, avocado, almond, and grapeseed the macadamia was more resistant to heat-induced oxidation. It could withheld temperatures of 250 degrees without much oxidation and it was the only oil that outlasted its labeled sell date. It has great composition numbers as well. Part of its stability comes from its extremely low omega-6 content (only coconut was lower), its high concentration of monounsaturated with 80% (higher than olive oil), and decent amount of saturated fat (16%). It’s true that olive oil is considered the antioxidant powerhouse, but macadamia oil deserves some recognition as well. Besides having a good showing of vitamin E, there are other antioxidants like squalene and palmitoleic acid. Squalene is a natural antioxidant found in the skin that synthesizes cholesterol and vitamin B, but in macadamia nuts appears to prevent oxidative damage. Palmitoleic acid an omega-7 that not only works as an effective moisturizer for the skin, but works as antioxidant by preventing damage to skin cells by free radicals. Macadamia nut oil is also rich in: calcium, vitamin B complex, phosphorus, and iron. With all these potential benefits, I think that macadamia nut oil is definitely worth considering at least trying in your fat-burner eating regime. For more information on our fat-burner weight loss program check out our website at bodychange.net

This entry was posted in Diet, Foods, Longevity, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Macadamia Nut Oil for antioxidant support

  1. Colby Woodington says:

    Vitamin B complex is a group of vitamins that includes thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, B-6, folate, B-12, pantothenic acid, biotin and choline. Some of the benefits of vitamin B complex supplements include increased energy, improved or more stable moods, healthier skin, hair and eyes. The vitamins are important for proper nervous system and immune system function. :

    Our personal online site
    http://caramoantourpackage.com/

Leave a Reply

